99FM – Your Inspiration Station

Namibia to Host AU Peace and Security Council events on Women, Peace, and Security

As the current Chair of the African Union (AU) Peace and Security Council (PSC) for the month of March 2024, Namibia is set to host two significant events aimed at promoting women’s participation and strengthening peace and security on the continent.

The first event, the AU PSC High-Level Ministerial Seminar on Women, Peace, and Security (WPS), is scheduled to take place on March 23, 2024, in Swakopmund, Namibia. This seminar is of paramount importance as it marks the 20th anniversary of the PSC and will focus on assessing women’s roles in peace processes across Africa under the theme: “Commemorating 20 years of the PSC by taking stock of women’s participation and leadership in peace processes in Africa.”

Expected to attend are fifteen Foreign Ministers who are members of the Peace and Security Council, along with key AU officials including the AU Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace, and Security, and the Special Envoy of the AUC Chairperson on WPS. Additionally, six other esteemed members of the AU Panel of the Wise and its Affiliate Bodies will grace the occasion. Ambassadors/Permanent Representatives at the AU, as well as Experts and Defence Attaches, will also be present.

Following the seminar, Namibia will host an Orientation Workshop for Outgoing and Incoming PSC Members from March 25 to 27, 2024, in Swakopmund, Namibia. This workshop is designed to provide guidance and insight to both outgoing and incoming PSC members, ensuring a smooth transition and continuity in the council’s efforts towards conflict prevention, management, and resolution in Africa.

The Peace and Security Council (PSC) serves as the AU’s principal decision-making body for addressing conflicts on the continent. It plays a crucial role in providing timely responses to conflict and crisis situations, promoting peace, stability, and development across Africa.

Currently, the AU PSC consists of Namibia, Burundi, Cameroon, Congo, Djibouti, Gambia, Ghana, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. The outgoing members include Burundi, Congo, Ghana, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia, and Zimbabwe, while the incoming members are Angola, Botswana, Cote D’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, The Gambia, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, and Uganda.

These events hosted by Namibia reflect the AU’s commitment to advancing gender equality, promoting women’s empowerment, and enhancing peace and security on the African continent.